God – my best guest!!!

untitledI happen to be a strong believer of Lord Ganesha. Since I realized God exists, I have worshipped Him.I was a regular at the temple nearby and I had a dream that – The elephant headed, charismatic ,mighty idol should once visit my place. But due to some or the other reason, it never happened.

The thought dissolved my mind and I went on with my own work. One day I was walking inside my building compound, and I found a petite mouse like, auburn coloured creature, lying under the bench. It was a 1 month old kitten! Beautiful bluish grey eyes which were constantly looking for his mother, small hands and legs that were excited to jump and explore the world around, but he was so weak that he had no strength to even meow. I felt like it has so many things to say, but his body wasn’t permitting him.

Realising that it was pouring, I picked him up and took him home. For 3-4 days, he was struggling to breathe. He was not even able to eat or drink. But on day 4 he showed some improvement. I could breathe a sigh of relief. He used to do nothing but yell loudly. Hence we named him “Siren”. My parents clapped , and they used to talk everything possible in marathi to that kitten.I fed him, I put him to sleep everyday on his little bed I prepared for him and another 3 days passed happily.Whenever he screamed on top of his voice, mom used to pick him up and this guy kept quiet and slept. After all that was mother’s touch, it ought to be the best. Later when we weren’t at home whole day, my mother used to wrap her duppatta around him. Surprisingly he was habituated to that thing. It was almost 7 days, he was with us. I had no clue that the worst is yet to come.

Suddenly, On the 10th day, he was panting. He was finding it difficult to breathe, and soon I realized something very sad is going to happen. That day, the whole day I was with him. At night my father asked me to be with him. I was lying down, controlling the uncontrollable tears dropping down my cheeks and upon my tummy was the little one. I managed to sleep and so did Siren. On the 11th day,I woke up in the morning and went upto my father to enquire if all was ok, I made a hand gesture to him saying if all was okay, expecting a very positive reply though I was prepared. My father nodded his head and said “everything is over”. Siren left us that morning. My heart sunk.

After we buried him, my dad, mom and myself were sitting in our hall and Mom realized that she wrapped around her duppatta like everyday when he was yelling, but she had high temperature then. The little one seemed to be afftected by that as he was already extremely delicate. We avoided that thought.

When we came out of all that incident, we noticed that the kitten was with us for 11 days-just like Lord Ganesha is! It was my belief or may be my faith that just to fulfill my wish, He visited us. He was in between us, we served Him day and night, and finally leaving memories for us, He left. I did not know how to react to this situation-If I should be happy for the fulfillment of my silent wish or if I should be sad that the little one left us.

Certain things don’t have answers and this is one of them. Certain things make you happy but last for a little time and this is one of them. Certain things are destined and this is one of them.

~ by expressionsunplugged on June 30, 2009.

6 Responses to “God – my best guest!!!”

  1. Very very emotional dear…..and i know what you went through that period….it was indeed Ganapatti Pappa’s visit to our house…..

  2. Very true……..if v want, god can b seen n felt in ne wayzz…….Nice one Rhucha

  3. Hey…I know this whole episode, and I think you lived it up infact you are still living up to Ganpu’s expectationa, so great gng love 🙂

  4. it indeed bot tears to my eyes, iam sure your faith in Ganesh ji has proven….

  5. I dont have to tell you… you saw me when i was reading… in tears.. this is very touchy…

  6. Ouch! Beautifully written ‘cuz it expresses the emotional connection and pain felt so well. Love the after thought and the way to accept a loss in life, after all, everything is a learning curve. Great piece 🙂

Leave a comment